Wednesday, January 02, 2008


This Award is one of the more vague ones. It can be given to an individual, a team, an executive, a group of players, anyone really. I named it after A-Rod because we all know he’s a choker.

Here are the nominations:

Alex Rodriguez - 3B, New York Yankees
Derek Jeter - SS, New York Yankees
New York Yankees
New York Jets
Boston College Football
Roger Clemens - SP, New York Yankees
Daisuke Matsuzaka - SP, Boston Red Sox

This is a tough one to decide. A-Rod had a mediocre playoff series. Jeter flat out stank in the ALDS. The Yankees came in second place and once again exited early. The Jets went from a playoff team to a pack of scurvy rats. BC Football went from being #2 in the country to playing in the Champs Sports Bowl. Roger Clemens was exposed as a phony. And Daisuke didn’t really live up to the hype in ‘07.

And the winner is…

Roger Clemens of the New York Yankees.

We all knew Clemens was a jerk, a liar, and a traitor. But as much as we hated him, we had to begrudgingly respect his outstanding pitching over the years. Until the Mitchell Report came out. Now his numbers are tainted, his artificially extended career tarnished. Those extra Cy Youngs he won in Toronto, New York, and Houston have been sullied. Roger, we’re all very disappointed in you.

No comments:

Post a Comment