Wednesday, January 05, 2011


2010 was a bit of an off year for Boston sports. The Celtics made the NBA Finals, but lost to the Lakers. The Bruins blew a 3-0 series lead to Philadelphia. The Patriots were unceremoniously dismissed from the playoffs by the Ravens. And the Red Sox failed to make the playoffs.

However, the year seems to be ending on a high note. The Celtics remain one of the premier teams in the NBA. The Red Sox made some big moves. And the Patriots went 14-2, clinching the #1 seed in the AFC playoffs.

The BBS Award nominees and winners are determined solely by me. And they cover the calendar year. Here is a list of the Awards, along with their 2009 recipients:

Frazee Award for Goat of the Year (Adalius Thomas)
Shaughnessy Award for Worst Sportswriter (Michael Holley)
A-Rod Award for Biggest Choke/Disappointment (Red Sox' offense)
Varitek Award for Most Overrated Athlete (David Ortiz)
Flutie Award for College Athlete of the Year (Brad Thiessen)
Orr Award for Bruins Player of the Year (Marc Savard)
Bill Russell Award for Celtics Player of the Year (Rajon Rondo)
Bledsoe Award for Patriots Player of the Year (Wes Welker)
Ted Williams Award for Sox Player of the Year (Jon Lester)
Tom Brady Award for Biggest Surprise Out of Nowhere (Sebastian Vollmer)
Bloody Sock Award for Toughness (Mark Herzlich)
Game of the Year (BU Wins NCAA Hockey Final)
Auerbach Award for Executive/Coach of the Year (Peter Chiarelli)
Lifetime Achievement Award (Gene DeFilippo)
Athlete of the Year (Wes Welker)
Team of the Year (BU Hockey)


No comments:

Post a Comment