Tuesday, January 05, 2010


For this Award, I not only consider talent and achievement, but also scale of stage. In other words, a Division-IA football game is a much larger stage than a Division-II wrestling match. In other other words, BC dominates this award.


Kevin Shattenkirk (just for the name) - D, BU hockey
Kieran Millan - G, BU hockey
Brad Thiessen - G, Northeastern hockey
Montel Harris - RB, BC football
Matt Gilroy - D, BU hockey

And the winner is...

Brad Thiessen.

This is the 4th time I've given out this Award, and Thiessen is the first non-BC athlete to win.

Thiessen carried Northeastern to their first NCAA tourney in 15 years. He was the Hockey East player of the year for 08-09, an All-American, and a Hobey Baker finalist.

In 41 games for the Huskies last season, he stopped 1,195 shots, registering an unreal .931 SV%, and a 2.12 GAA. He was only a junior, but decided to enter the professional ranks, now playing for Pittsburgh's AHL affiliate in Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.

I was going to give this Award to Montel Harris for his 1,457 rushing yards on the season, but how tough was the ACC this year? Not very. I was considering BU goalie Kieran Millan, but he's struggling so far in the 09-10 season. So Thiessen breaks the BC stranglehold on this Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment