Tuesday, January 05, 2010


This is an interesting one, because by definition, these guys can only register a maximum of 4 years in the decade. Often they only get 2 seasons to really shine. And if they're truly excellent, they typically go pro as juniors.

Here are the nominees:

Matt Ryan - QB, BC Football
Cory Schneider - G, BC Hockey
Nathan Gerbe - C, BC Hockey
Brad Thiessen - G, Northeastern Hockey
Chuck Kobasew - C, BC Hockey
Andrew Alberts - D, BC Hockey
Matt Gilroy - D, BU Hockey
John Curry - G, BU Hockey
Craig Smith - F, BC Basketball
Troy Bell - G, BC Basketball
Jared Dudley - F, BC Basketball

And the winner is...

Matt Ryan.

You know, any one of the nominees above deserve this Award. Ryan stands out only because of the stage he was on. A stage which he had a hand in building for himself and the BC football program.

BC football is an also-ran program from a national perspective. Respected, solid, but far from elite. But Matt Ryan brought the team close to greatness, as close as it's been since the heady days of Doug Flutie.

His senior campaign, he threw for 4,507 yards, 31 TDs, and a 127.04 rating. He was drafted 3rd overall by the Falcons. His jersey is still the 2nd most worn at BC football games (behind Flutie's), if not the most. Chestnut Hill also boasts the 2nd most Falcons jerseys per capita, just behind Atlanta.

No comments:

Post a Comment