Tuesday, January 05, 2010


It's that time of year again, time to dispense and distribute the Boston Blood Sox Awards. We've got a new Award this year. And as an added treat, I'll be giving out Awards for 2009, and for the 2000s decade.

The BBS Awards are determined entirely by me. The selection process is based on whatever games/players/teams I can conjur up in my hung-over post-New Year's mind.

Keep in mind, these awards are based on the calender year 2009, which can make things a bit muddled when it comes to hockey and basketball.

Here's a list of the Awards I'll be giving out, with last year's winner in parenthesis.

Frazee Award for Goat of the Year (Manny Ramirez)
Shaughnessy Award for Worst Sportswriter (Tony Maserati)
A-Rod Award for Biggest Choke/Disappointment (the Patriots)
Flutie Award for College Athlete of the Year (Nathan Gerbe)
Orr Award for Bruins Player of the Year (Phil Kessel)
Bill Russell Award for Celtics Player of the Year (Kevin Garnett)
Bledsoe Award for Patriots Player of the Year (Wes Welker)
Ted Williams Award for Sox Player of the Year (Kevin Youkilis)
Tom Brady Award for Biggest Surprise Out of Nowhere (Matt Cassel)
Bloody Sock Award for Toughness (Mike Lowell)
Game of the Year (ALCS Game 5)
Auerbach Award for Executive/Coach of the Year (Claude Julien)
Lifetime Achievement Award (Jerry York)
Athlete of the Year (Wes Welker)
Team of the Year (Boston Celtics)


No comments:

Post a Comment