Tuesday, January 05, 2010


In a decade of Championships, there tends to be a number of potential honorees for Coach/Executive of the Decade. Here are the nominees...

Theo Epstein - GM, Boston Red Sox
Terry Francona - Manager, Boston Red Sox
Danny Ainge - GM, Boston Celtics
Doc Rivers - Head Coach, Boston Celtics
Scott Pioli - Personnel Director, New England Patriots
Bill Belichick - Head Coach, New England Patriots

And the winner is...

Bill Belichick

Three things separate Belichick from the other nominees. #1 The league he works in. #2 The amount of success he's had. And #3, his relative lack of failure.

He's not perfect. Adalius Thomas can testify to that. But his seasons always seem to work out well. He's had 9 winning seasons in New England. The Patriots franchise only had 19 total before Belichick. He's won 7 division titles, 4 conference titles, and 3 Super Bowls.

Nuf Said.

No comments:

Post a Comment